Epic Games Store Gets Spring Showcase, Sale Next Week



Epic has announced an upcoming announcement showcase and sale on the Epic Games Store, starting on February 11.The event kicks off with a Twitch stream at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 7pm UK (that’s 6am AEST on February 12) on the Epic Games Twitch Channel, and will include new game announcements, gameplay, and extended looks at upcoming games planned for launch on the Epic Games Store this year.

Beginning three hours earlier the same day at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern / 4pm UK / (3am AEST on February 12) and lasting through the same time on February 25, Epic Games will also run its Spring Showcase Sale. The sale will include deals on a number of titles such as Star Wars: Squadrons, SnowRunner, Cyberpunk 2077, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, and Hades. A preview of all the games that will go on sale during this time is available on the Epic Games Store now and appears to include over 180 games, though it isn’t currently showing what the discounts on those titles will be.

Though Epic hasn’t given any hints about what new announcements might be present at its stream on the 11th, it recently gave a statement to PC Gamer indicating that we should expect to specifically see a lot more Epic Games Store exclusives in the future.

“We have more exclusives coming in the next two years than we have published to date,” said a company representative to PC Gamer, in response to a report that the storefront’s bevy of exclusives seemed to have quieted down of late.

Exclusives have also been a major revenue driver for the storefront in the past, so it wouldn’t be surprising to see a few new announcements along those lines at the showcase next week. It’s also possible we might see glimpses of exclusives already announced for the store that aren’t yet out — which could include games such as The Wolf Among Us 2, Jett: The Far Shore, Darkest Dungeon 2, Kena: Bridge of Spirits, or upcoming titles from Ubisoft (which typically also launch on the Ubisoft Store) or Remedy.

Rebekah Valentine is a news reporter for IGN. You can find her on Twitter @duckvalentine.





Source link

You May Also Like